APC Freshmen get groovy at ‘Rams N’ Beats’

By: Josef Miguel V. Monasterial; Photos by Dana Tarriela

It was a major throwback as students from all schools of APC enthusiastically socialized and danced to the beat and music from the early 2000s. It also created a nostalgic atmosphere for this year’s Frosh Night with “Rams N’ Beats” as its theme. The freshmen and freshmen-at-heart partied last August 30, 2019, from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Prior to the event in the evening, the APC Dance Company (APC DC) energized the entire crowd at lunchtime in the cafeteria through their flash mob dance number.

Sean Gonio and Joshua Luspo of APC Speaks brought life to the party. They hosted interesting games like the Dance-off, ‘Head, Knees, Toes, Shoe,’ and the famous Newspaper Dance.

The hosts of Frosh Night 2019: APC Speaks’ The OutKast (from left to right) Joshua Luspo and Sean Gonio

For the Dance-off, the crowd formed three groups who competed against each other. Group III won the competition. The last men standing in the Head, Knees, Toes, Shoe game were Jules Martin Palon of BSECE191 and Miguelangelo Inigo Hassan of BSIT-MI191. Finally, the group of Briane Carpio, Ezm Basoc, Aaliyah Tayan, and Gianna Lituañas won in the Newspaper Dance which is a famous Filipino game that is frequently played in parties.

Food was served thereafter. The students, refueled by stacks of pizza alongside other snacks and drinks, were once again energized in preparation for the special song numbers by the APC Band.

Remaining players fight for the last shoe in the “Heads, Knee, Toes, Shoes” game
Remaining players under intense concentration for the last round of “Heads, Knees, Toes, Shoes”
Students enjoying the “Newspaper Dance”

The performances were led by Kate Cenita and Karl Dahan. Gabe Tiano, the lead guitarist of APC’s homegrown and nationally-recognized band called “Sleep Alley,” had special participation. They serenaded the students with R&B hits such as “Hold on We’re Going Home” by Drake and “Redbone” by Childish Gambino.

APC Band’s keyboardist (left) James Heramil and lead guitarist (right) Gabe Tiano

After the live music, SOAR President Joseph Cabangunay finally announced the recipients of the special awards. Jay Vhones Dela Cruz garnered the “Hype of the Night” award which came with a Certificate of Recognition and a box of donuts. Ezm Smailah Basoc of BSTM191 was recognized for being the ‘Best dressed’ in Female category. Josef Miguel Monasterial of BMMA193 bagged the award for being the ‘Best dressed’ in Male category.

Frosh Night 2019: Rams N’ Beats Retro-themed party stage designed by Bahay Bombilya